Nonfiction · Writing

Rip Van Winkle

Rip Van Winkle

The story of Rip Van Winkle by Washington Irving has always intrigued me. For those that don’t know the story, Rip Van Winkle is about a Dutch villager who is popular within his village of Catskill, New York. He’s happy all of the time and loves interacting with his fellow villagers. The only time he isn’t happy is when he’s around his nagging wife, who constantly gets on to him. One day, tired of his wife’s bickering, he heads to the woods and meets Henry Hudson who’s with his crew. He drinks with them then later falls asleep. He awakens 20 years later with the world vastly different. His kids are grown while his wife has passed away. His village has grown bigger. The citizens are more concerned than being happy-go-lucky. His kids and some other villagers accept him after being away for so long. 

I have often wondered to myself: what would it be like being like Rip Van Winkle? It’s a intriguing, yet terrifying thought. Yes, I would like to see into the future of the world around me. I’d have to deal with the pain from potential deaths in the family. The deaths of my friends. Then there’s the bright side of seeing those who are alive. Seeing what they have accomplished in their life. 

It’s interesting to think of how I would handle that situation. I don’t think I would be scared. I would have anxiety for sure though. I hope that I would come back with an epic beard down to my crotch. To give me something to smile if this ever does happen. 

Leave a Reply

