Nonfiction · Writing

Superhero Movies 

I love superhero movies. As a fan of comics featuring superheroes, I’m going to watch movies based off of my favorite characters. I’ve noticed that some people have to go see every superhero movie that comes to theaters. I guess it’s perhaps the trendy thing to do. I’m not going to go see every superhero movie and I’ll tell you why.

Superhero movies are to me like comics are. When I go comic book shopping, I’m looking to purchase books based on characters that I think that I’ll enjoy. If there’s a character that I know for sure that I don’t like, I’m not going to buy the comic of the character. That’s how I am now with the movies. For example, Warner Brothers and DC Comics are planning on making a film based on the character Black Adam. Black Adam is the main villain of Shazam, but is it necessary for him to have his own movie? He doesn’t even have his own comic at this time.

I’m scared that all of the abundance of superhero movies are going to burn people out. I’m not going to get burned out due to the fact that I’m not going to see every movie. I’d rather see the Atom or Green Arrow get a movie before Black Adam. I imagine there will be people seeing them all, but that’s them. I’ll be saving my money on a few flicks.

Leave a Reply

