Nonfiction

Worshipping With My Lady

Not too long ago, I did a post about giving advice to white men who would like to speak with black women. In the post, I mentioned that I was speaking to a black female who I was interested in dating and that we were good friends. Now, I’m proud to say that I’m dating her and she has slowly become my best friend. We have began to develop goals that we want to achieve together. One of the goals was for me to attend church with her and I’m proud to say that we accomplished this goal.

I’ve never been to an all-black church before so I was nervous. My girlfriend assured me that I would have a good time and she was right. My lady led me to the church’s gym because she had choir practice with other members of her church family. Everyone of the choir had on fall colors and my lady looked great in hers. I watched her practice along with the others and I enjoyed seeing her sway along with the rhythm of the song. 

After choir practice, we went to the room where we would worship that morning. Along the way, I got to shake hands and hug the members of the church. It made me feel as if I was home. My girlfriend sat up front behind the pastor to be with the other choir members. I sat towards the middle with my girlfriend’s mother. The church crowd was small and everyone was close with one another in harmony.

The service consisted of beautiful singing and different people praising God by standing up to sing or waving their hands. It was good to see my girlfriend sing and be so passionate about it with the swaying motion of her body. Different members taking the time to pray and thank the Lord. Members preaching about different topics and the pastor even touching on the election that happened last week. We all were assured that if we put God first that everything will be fine and he should stay first even in the toughest of situations. 

I had a pleasant experience at my girlfriend’s church and I can’t wait to go again. I left there feeling blessed about my life and all of the wonderful people in it. I have many more goals left to achieve with my lady and I can’t wait to do so. 

Leave a Reply

