Nonfiction

Graduation 

After five long years, graduation finally arrived this past weekend. Though it has taken me five years to complete this journey, it feels as if the years have blown by. I both strived and dreaded for the moment to arrive. I strived because it was time to receive my degree and doors are unlocked with opportunities. I dreaded it because I get anxiety when I’m in front of people and there were that I didn’t want college to be over. I have enjoyed being in college and it’s going to be weird not having homework during the week. I’ve been in school since I was 5. I graduated high school in the spring of 2010 and started college in the fall of the same year. It’s going to be weird not being on campus in the spring, but I plan on making a return.

I want to return in the fall to obtain my masters degree. I want to do this because I wouldn’t mind teaching at the collegiate level and I never thought that I would be the type that wanted to teach. In school, I hated the idea of being a teacher. I didn’t think that I could handle standing in front of kids or teenagers or I wouldn’t like dealing with kids who acted out. College changed that for me. Well, college made me interested in teaching adults, not kids. Adults are supposed to know how to behave, especially in a professional setting. It doesn’t mean that you still won’t have one that will act like an idiot.

Our guest speaker, Patterson Hood, who you may know from the rock band Drive-by Truckers, talked about having adventures and chasing dreams. While he was giving his speech, I couldn’t help that my mind was playing “Zip City” by Drive-by Truckers in my head. Hood was a good example of someone with a dream who took years to achieve it. His speech made me stay inspired in hopes to one day being in the comics industry. It’s a long shot, but it’s something that I know that I can do.

It’s a lot to take in when you’re trying to figure out what to do with your life. My next steps are taking shape, but I’ll wait until 2016 to take them. Right now, I want to enjoy the holidays with my family and my friends. Enjoy my extra free time while I have it. 

Leave a Reply

