Nonfiction

Internships

It’s getting near time for me to graduate from college and I’m trying to turn in internships before the semester is over with. Internships look great on resumes and give valuable experience to students in the fields of their choice. I have always wanted to work in the comics industry, so all of the internships that I plan to apply for, are for comic book companies. I have always wanted to be a comic book writer and landing an internship with a comic book company can help me learn how issues are constructed together. It could also let me see how other jobs in the industry operate, such as the editing position. It gives me a chance to get out of my region, which doesn’t have opportunities in the comics business.

Although traveling far away would cost more financially, it would be great to experience life in a different state. Several comic book internship opportunities are out west. A few companies are in California, such as DC and IDW. Oni Press and Dark Horse are in Oregon, while Fantagraphics is in Washington state. Then there are a few in the north/northeast area. Marvel and Valiant both operate in New York City, while Dynamite is in New Jersey. Although I’m more familiar with superhero comics, I would love to have the chance to work for a company that focuses on independent comics and a variety of genres. The comic book stores and book stores where I live mainly feature superhero titles, so that’s what I mainly get to see. Being a part of an indie publisher would let me see other comics that I normally don’t get time on book shelves at local stores.

I have other internship opportunities in line that don’t involve comic books, just in case. I’m also going to put in applications here in the south if I can’t afford to travel. I hope that I will get an internship with a company that will treat me like family and make the experience worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

