Nonfiction

Lazy Day Prediction: PAC-12 (South)

The FBS college football season kicks off this week and I have to say that I’m extremely excited. The season arrived quickly and I’m still in baseball mode. It doesn’t look like the Giants are going to return to the playoffs. Either way, my Ducks are about to spring back into action, but I would like to talk about the teams that are from the rival division.

USC is receiving lots of hype and it’s understandable. They have plenty returning, such as quarterback Cody Kessler, who could be a potential Heisman candidate. But do they have enough power in the defensive tank? Can their defense hold their own against Stanford this year or the likes of UCLA or any of the Arizona teams? The hype could be getting to head coach Steve Sarkisian. Sarkisian has been in the headlines for the drinking issue that happened at a USC event. Sarkisian didn’t receive any national championship attention while at Washington, but now is receiving plenty with the Trojans. I just wonder if he was boozing during his Huskies years.

I think that Arizona State will be the team to beat out of the south. They return a veteran quarterback in Mike Bercovici and seven starters on defense. I think the south division is a toss up between USC, UCLA, Arizona, and Arizona State. The reason why I like the Sun Devils is because they have three tough PAC-12 games at home in Tempe: Oregon, Arizona, and USC. Last year, some people didn’t think that the Devils would be good, but they cranked out a 10-win season. I think they have the potential to do that again and possibly win the conference title. 

Here’s how I think the south will end up:        

1. Arizona State 2. Arizona 3. USC 4. UCLA 5. Utah 6. Colorado 

I think the first five can make it to bowl games again like last season. The south has more winning teams than the north, but can the south end the north’s reign? 

Leave a Reply

