Uncategorized

Watching Star Wars for the First Time

index

I have been away for a while. I was preparing for a conference at my university; so I’m sorry that I have not been regularly posting. Let’s get back to talking about movies.

Yes, it’s true…I just recently watched Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope for the first time. This is the first ever Star Wars film that I have ever watched. I know the rules though…to watch the original trilogy before the new. I did enjoy the film, though it didn’t appeal to me like it has a majority of people. I understand why this film is so appealing, especially considering the time of the film’s release (1977). I’ll discuss what I enjoyed from the film and the few minor things that bothered me.

Star Wars Episode IV is a huge spectacle. George Lucas has so many interesting concepts and creations in this film that it’s mind-blowing. I must admit though that I already knew of these things by seeing television shows speaking on the film and having friends tell me what the film and the universe is all about. I was amazed with the different planets and space stations of the film. I liked the detail of the interiors of the ships, such as the Death Star. The light-saber and the Force are wickedly cool concepts. The light-saber is able to cut anything apart with ease. The color of the light-saber reflects the wielder’s choice of either being on the good side or the dark side of the Force. I really enjoyed the Force though there’s not much of it in the film. I really enjoyed watching Darth Vader using the force-choke on his allies that defy him. The actors played it so well. Luke is learning the ways of the Force, but he finally controls it thoroughly during the scene where the Rebels are trying to destroy the Death Star. Luke hones in using the Force and fires the shots with perfect aim to destroy the Death Star. The variety of different space ships and space stations is amazing and it reminds of the variety displayed in Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968). Star Wars, to me, had an entertaining advantage over 2001: space ships in an all-out war!

I really enjoyed the story to Star Wars. I liked seeing a hero (Luke Skywalker, played by Mark Hamill)  being born out of a young farm boy. Heroism is clearly within Luke as he is tired of being on his uncle’s farm and he knows that there is adventure out there for him to enjoy. The team assembled of Luke, C-3PO (Anthony Daniels), Han Solo (Harrison Ford), Alec Guinness (Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi), Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher), and R2-D2 (Kenny Baker) are a lethal punch against the Empire. They sneak into the place, find Leia, and get out of there , thanks to Ben. I know that Ben is really old, but I felt as if he gives up in his fight with Vader. Ben knows that Luke has plenty of potential as a Jedi, but I thought Ben could have went out swinging, instead of giving Vader the free blow. Ben knows who Vader is, so maybe he wanted to give Luke the chance to meet him, which we all know that Vader is Luke’s father. I mean, I knew that before I even watched the movie. I also saw that Vader is not that powerful in this film like I thought he would be, which I imagine he gets stronger in episodes five and six. It sucked seeing Vader floating through space after the destruction of the Death Star. I guess that makes me a fan of the Sith, doesn’t it? Either way, it’s an enjoyable film. I can’t wait to see the rest of the films. Oh yeah…I think Han shot first.

Leave a Reply

